If you’ve been watching TV lately, then you’ve likely seen some (re: many) ads for Taco Bell’s new Grilled Stuft Nacho.  While I can’t comment of the effectiveness of their ad campaign, I was intrigued enough by the photos of the food to have a craving for some nachos, grilled and stuft style.

In its wrapper

In its wrapper

The Grilled Stuft Nacho (GSN) is priced at $1.29, though I opted for the box meal which comes with a crunchy beef taco (old reliable!), a beef burrito supreme (lettuce does not belong in Taco Bell burritos), and a medium soda. Luckily the box itself is filling, since I think I’d need probably 3 of the GSNs to make me full.

Here's a profile shot

Here’s a profile shot

When I opened the wrapper, the GSN was not as filled out as the commercial makes it seem (shocking, I know!). As a result, the GSN is thin. Like really thin. It looks like a flatbread. The outer layer is reminiscent of the Crunchwrap Supreme. I expected something… uh, crunchier, like a nacho, instead of bread.  I’m not a fan of this outer layer, and the few bites I had without any filling were not pleasing.

Thin!

Thin!

Taco Bell says the filling comprises of “seasoned beef, warm nacho cheese sauce, … zesty nacho sauce, crunchy red strips, and …sour cream.” I personally could not taste the difference between the nacho cheese and nacho sauce. I just thought it was nacho cheese. The filling suffers the from the same problem as a lot of Taco Bell products: it’s not evenly apportioned. My first few bites were only sauce, bread and the red strips. It took about 1/3 of the way through the GSN before I reached any of the beef. Other times, a bites were solely sour cream. The few times I did get all of the ingredients at the same time, I thought it was a nice blend, but those good bites were too few.

So my verdict is so-so. The Grilled Stuft Nacho is not something I’ll crave and need to stop at Taco Bell for. I’m glad I tried it, but this was not as good as I hoped it would be. It also doesn’t help that Taco Bell has so many cheaper options that taste better. If I’m looking for one extra item to round out my meal there, I’d probably rather save a few cents and just get a regular taco instead of the GSN. This has potential, but I think Taco Bell would need to rework the breading and make sure employees even out the filling.

Note: This post has been edited. I originally wrote that the GSN is $1.79, however that is incorrect. The correct price is $1.29.

