Think of this post as an appetizer for the main course. I haven’t purposefully shied away from value menu items, they just haven’t been as pressing for me as premium offerings, since I’m more likely to order a combo meal, as opposed to building a meal from the value menu. However, those items deserve attention too. Value item posts may be a little briefer than regular items (notwithstanding this long-winded introduction), but I’ll try not to ignore them in the future. Onward, ho!

Wendy’s has been advertising their value menu chipotle sandwiches for some time now, so I’m happy I stopped in last week so I could finally try one.  Since my main meal was a burger, I decided to try the Spicy Chipotle Crispy Chicken Sandwich, so the taste would be completely fresh. From the outside, this isn’t a large sandwich, but it doesn’t need to be. It’s price is only $1.29, and it works as an addition to a combo meal or as a quick snack.

Looks unassuming, but it packs some bite

Looks unassuming, but it packs some bite

Wendy’s describes the sandwich as a “crispy chicken patty loaded up with pepper-Jack cheese, zesty jalapenos and spicy chipotle sauce.” As a big fan of their Spicy Chicken Sandwich, I knew they wouldn’t let me down and not bring some spice to the proceedings. The chicken itself was good. The breading has a nice crunch, and the patty was surprisingly juicy. I tried one of the jalapeños on its own and zesty wouldn’t be the word I’d use. They were pickled. Pickled jalapeños are good, so I don’t know why Wendy’s needed to obfuscate the actual flavor.  As for the heat, I could definitely taste it, but it wasn’t overwhelming. Perhaps that’s because the peppers are sliced very thin. The thinness made me worry they would get lost in the sandwich, but they held up well. Also (surprise, surprise!), the jalapeños were only on one side of the sandwich. I generally like pepper-jack cheese, but a full slice is probably too much for a sandwich that isn’t very large. Before I got a bite with everything, the cheese was taking over the taste of the sandwich.

Bright colors

Bright colors

When I finally got a bite with all of the elements, it was pretty good. Like I mentioned with the jalapeños, you could definitely taste the spice, but I wasn’t gasping for water. The spicy chipotle sauce was bright orange with some red flecks in it. The color was… uh, bright, and I understand that it may be off putting for some, but it didn’t taste disgusting. Also, and this is very key, the sandwich was not over sauced. I appreciated not needing to wipe my face after every bite.

Sandwich guts!

Sandwich guts!

I’d call this a successful sandwich. One minor tweak may be to give a half slice of cheese, like McDonald’s does with the Filet-O-Fish, just to prevent the cheese from being too prominent, but it isn’t a deal breaker. If I’m at Wendy’s and want something to add to my combo meal, I generally go for chili with cheese, but I’d consider this as a substitute in the future if I wanted something with chicken and not beef.

One last thing, and though I hate to end this on a down note, I feel like I should mention it. There was a hair on the burger, so I didn’t actually eat the whole thing, I wound up ripping about a 1/3 of it off. Normally I wouldn’t mention this, but as I’ll write in my next review, there was a hair on that burger too. That kinda ruined the experience of the lunch.

