Before we begin on this adventure, a quick note. This blog is a labor of love and I have no intentions of stopping any time soon. With that being said, I’m also not opposed to people sharing it via tweets, Facebook, reblogs, etc. I try to keep my Facebook plugs to a minimum (once a month!), but more traffic is nice! Anyway, back to business.

Day One's Bounty

Day One’s Bounty

Taco Bell has entered the breakfast game. I’m not entirely certain how anticipation reached a fever pitch for this, but here we are. Taco Bell does well with innovation (seriously those Doritos tacos), and I think people were curious what Taco Bell came up with. Looking at the opening menu choices, they mainly played it safe outside of the Waffle Taco and the A.M. Crunchwrap, but we’ll see how things change if this foray is successful.

I made it my mission to eat everything on the breakfast menu and report back here. Originally, my plan was to do this in three evenly spaced trips. Then I ordered half the menu in a pitch of excitement on my first trip. Oh well, a boy’s gotta eat AND breakfast is the most important meal of the day! One further note: these reviews are likely to be shorter than normal, because many of the components here are going to be the same: bacon/sausage, egg, and cheese. I’ll try and focus more on how flavors combine as opposed to telling you what eggs taste like six posts in a row. Without further ado, here is the first entry in Taco Bell breakfast week.

Exterior shot

Exterior shot

Smaller than I thought

Smaller than I thought

Upon first glance, I was surprised the Steak & Egg Burrito was so small. I’m not sure exactly what I anticipated, but I didn’t expected it would only be slightly larger than a regular soft taco. I got the meal, which comes with a hashbrown or two Cinnabon Delights, and a drink, which can be a coffee, medium soda, or orange juice. The juice cost $0.20 extra and was tiny. Next time I‘ll just get a soda. The total cost of the meal was $4.69. Not a great value, especially when compared to the other items on the breakfast menu, but also not terrible.

Steak

Steak

Taco Bell touts the Steak & Egg Burrito as “fluffy scrambled eggs, lots of warm melted cheddar cheese and marinated, premium thick cut steak, all wrapped up in a warm flour tortilla.” This was the first item I ate on my visit, and my first impression: this tastes like breakfast!!! Sorry. The first bite got some eggs, cheese and tortilla. Like a normal breakfast burrito. It was good. On my second bite, I got some steak, and this was still really good. The steak isn’t the choicest meat ever (this is Taco Bell after all), but I liked the flavor (think normal Mexican spices like cumin and cayenne). Most importantly, it wasn’t chewy. I hate eating fatty chewy steak, which seems to be the norm at most fast food establishments (*cough*Chipotle*cough*). Think of the texture here as that of beef in canned soup, just with some actual flavor. When I tasted the eggs on their own, they were good. I doubt that they’re scrambling eggs on site, but for something that’s likely dehydrated, they actually tasted eggy. They had a nice firm texture and weren’t watery. That’s about the best one could ask for.

Burrito Guts

Burrito Guts

When eating this, I was struck by how evenly distributed the ingredients were. This is something I’ve harped on in the past (including at Taco Bell), but it seemed like every bite contained all the ingredients. Thank you random Taco Bell employee who put some care into making this correctly. It was appreciated.

Well distributed innards

Well distributed innards

Now, onto the odd part of the experience. About halfway through, I realized that I liked the burrito, but felt like it needed some sort of sauce to tie everything together. So I got a packet of fire sauce, and it really contributed to the experience. As someone who likes adding hot sauce to eggs, this was a great combo, and I think anyone else who does the same would like this addition. So I did this until I reached the bottom quarter, and found a sauce. There’s no advertised sauce for this burrito, which was strange. I guessed that it tasted like a creamy chipotle, but based on the way it looked and examining the Taco Bell menu, I think it was the zesty Pepper Jack sauce they put on the Cheesy Gordita Crunch. I liked the sauce. It served the same purpose as the fire sauce by adding some spice and wetness, but I’m not sure if it was there on purpose, or if the kitchen is still working out some kinks with making the breakfast items.

Fire Sauce!

Fire Sauce!

I’m giving this a qualified recommendation. It is good on its own, but I think the addition of a spicy sauce really takes it to another level. Whether you use Fire, Mild, or you accidentally get some Zesty Pepper Jack, those will all add to the experience. There is an option to order it Fresco style, which would replace the cheese with pico de gallo, but I wouldn’t want to dump the cheese.  A breakfast burrito should contain cheese. This was also more expensive than the regular breakfast burrito, which is offered with sausage or bacon, instead of steak. I need to try those to determine whether steak is worth the extra price.

