Next up in my rundown of Taco Bell’s breakfast items is the Waffle Taco. This item, along with the AM Crunchwrap, shows off the different ways in which Taco Bell approaches breakfast. I’ve never seen a Waffle Taco before, but doesn’t it make perfect sense? It should be heartier than a regular taco because the shell is more substantial. It also allows for a pairing of sweet and salty between the waffle and the enclosed fillings.

Pretty sharp box

Pretty sharp box.

Taco Bell offers a choice of meat for the Waffle Taco: bacon or sausage. As we will see later, the sausage should be in patty form, but as of last night, was not served that way. The bacon is meant to be chopped pieces of bacon, but kinda looks like bacon bits. The price for one of these is $1.99, so it costs less than the breakfast burrito options, and to be honest, was just as filling.

This... uh... does not look good

This… uh… does not look good

The Waffle Taco is “a warm waffle wrapped around a delicious sausage patty and fluffy scrambled eggs topped with cheese and served with a side of sweet syrup.” Upon unwrapping the sandwich, the first sense that hit me was the smell. Oh wow did this smell good. It was like waking up and walking into the kitchen as someone who loves you just completed a stack of waffles for you. Or at least the person likes you and wants to impress you. Whatever, the person isn’t important, the waffles are. I ate this three days ago and still remember the scent. I also may or may not be drooling right now. Sorry.

Promo photo!

Promo photo!

 

Reality

Reality!

As great as this smelled, it looked like a pile of crap. Literally. My first two thoughts were rabbit droppings or dog food. This is where the problem of execution comes in, especially since this was the second day of the breakfast rollout. First off, there was no sausage patty. Instead there were sausage chunks on top of the eggs. They tasted fine (I’ll get to that later), but it really looked unappealing. Second problem, I was not given syrup (and did not know that was an option). While eating this, one of my main complaints/suggestions for improvement was that they should drizzle it with some syrup to up the sweetness and cut into the dryness. Now that I know that’s an option, I’m relieved, but not getting that syrup was a failure on the part of the kitchen.

Grease

Grease

I tasted a sausage piece (niblet? chunk?) before delving into the whole thing. It was good: a little spicy and a little sweet. If you’ve had sausage breakfast links, you know the taste here. Not huge taste, but at least it isn’t just filler. Before I picked up the waffle, I knew this was going to be greasy, and I was not let down. I went through several napkins eating this. I understand that Taco Bell wants to show off the taco, but maybe serving this is a paper shell (like the Doritos Locos tacos) would be beneficial.

Taco guts?

Taco guts?

My first bite was not as sweet as I’d thought it’d have been, based on the smell of waffle. Here is where the syrup really would’ve helped. When going through the taco, the eggs took a back seat to the bolder flavors of the waffle and sausage. The waffle itself was soft, and not terribly crunchy. It was fluffy and had a sweetness to it, which went really well with the sausage and cheese.

Waffle piece

Waffle piece

Look at those faux-waffle iron marks!

Look at those faux-waffle iron marks!

Whilst eating, I noted that this was a really dry sandwich and needed some sort of sauce. I wound up using some Fire Sauce, which worked really well with the sausage and cheese. Spice was the main flavor in those bites, but it was still a little sweet, so the waffle wasn’t completely overshadowed.

With Fire Sauce

With Fire Sauce

So this is somewhat of an incomplete. At the price, I think the Waffle Taco would be a good value, especially with a sausage patty since it’s pretty filling. However, the execution errors were glaring here. I understand that sometimes food won’t look like the menu picture, but what’s served shouldn’t look inedible. At some point I’ll try this again, hopefully as intended, and it will live up to expectations. But, right now, I’d say maybe wait a bit to order this to ensure that you get what’s advertised.

