So far, I’ve tackled a few of the larger items on the breakfast menu, but this post will cover one of the value items. To round out my first day of eating, I got a Sausage Flatbread Melt. This is priced at $1, and while smaller than the Waffle Taco and Steak and Egg Burrito, it is fairly filling due to the size of the flatbread.

Maybe a little less brown would be good

Maybe a little less brown would be good

The Sausage Flatbread Melt is a “warm flatbread filled with a delicious sausage patty and real cheddar cheese, then grilled to perfection.” Not to be snarky, but this was not grilled to perfection unless perfection involves leaving it in the press for too long. The flatbread was definitely browned and probably overcooked. It had a slight burnt taste to it. My first bite was solely flatbread, as it’s larger than the sausage patty along the sides. It’s thin and bready. Not too much flavor, but it’s really just there as a vehicle for the cheese and sausage, so that’s not an issue.

Lots of flatbread

Lots of flatbread

As for the sausage, I’m happy to report that I received an actual patty, and not those sausage bites that were in the Waffle Taco. It was a standard sausage patty, same flavor as in the Waffle Taco. The sausage and cheese dominate the flavor of the sandwich, so if you don’t like that combination, this is not going to be for you.

Really thin

Really thin

As a whole, this was surprisingly filling because of the flatbread. However, there’s not much here, so at $1, you’re getting what you pay for. Compared to the previous offerings I’ve gone over, this was pretty boring. It was also dry, and I needed some Fire Sauce to come to the rescue again. It was quite good with the Fire Sauce, but if you’ve been following along on this adventure, then you know I like me some Fire Sauce, so the enhancement shouldn’t be a surprise.

Fire Sauce

Fire Sauce

Sorry to be short and boring here, but this is a simple sandwich. I think it’s a good value at $1, and as long as you jazz it up with some sauce, it’s pretty good. Otherwise, it’s dry and boring. I probably liked this the least out of everything on the breakfast menu, but that’s due to the plainness more than anything else.

