I have been away for too long, and for that, I apologize. For readers who don’t know actually me (there are a few!), there were legitimate reasons why I have not posted recently. HOWEVER, the blog is not, and has never been dead. I have been continuing to eat new items whenever I have the opportunity, and I have some good stuff coming down the pipeline, even if it’s no longer timely. We’ll be finishing off the Taco Bell breakfast menu, then I’ll get to McDonald’s, Del Taco, and White Castle. As always, suggestions on things to do next are always welcomed, but I still have a list that’s at least 10 deep, so I’m not hurting for ideas at the moment.

 

The AM Crunchwrap

The AM Crunchwrap

Next up on our tour of the Taco Bell breakfast menu is the A.M. Crunchwrap. I’ve had the regular crunchwrap supreme and wasn’t a huge fan of it. The proportions always seemed off, there was too much tortilla, and I’m not a big fan of sour cream, and it was piled with that. However, this was sour cream free, and it looks like a flat breakfast burrito. What could go wrong?

The A.M. Crunchwrap comes with your choice of meat: bacon, sausage or steak. Unfortunately, since it’s been about three months since I ate this, I have lost the receipt. However, using the handy Google machine, the price for bacon or sausage is $2.49 before tax (which sounds familiar), while steak costs $2.99 pre tax. I opted for the bacon for a little variety.

Looks like a cartoon UFO door

Looks like a cartoon UFO door

Upon first glance, this was smaller than I thought it’d be. I don’t know if I was misremembering the regular Crunchwrap Supreme, or if they made it smaller for breakfast, but I expected a larger sandwich. Now, this wasn’t a problem since I was eating half the breakfast menu for the second time in three days, but if you’re just stopping in, maybe you’d want something larger.

Taco Bell describes the A.M. Crunchwrap as “all the classic breakfast tastes like fluffy scrambled eggs, a golden crispy has brown, real cheddar cheese, flavorful bacon and creamy jalapeno sauce wrapped in a warm flour tortilla and grilled.” So basically, this is meant to be your complete breakfast shoved into a tortilla. And there’s nothing wrong with that.

Slightly odd seeing a sandwich so condensed

Slightly odd seeing a sandwich so condensed

The first bite was great: I managed to get all of the ingredients. Compared to some of the other offerings, the staff was trained very well on making these. The jalapeno sauce really shines through here. First, it’s just damn tasty. It gives some heat without either overpowering the other ingredients, but the taste is strong enough that it doesn’t hide. Second, considering most of the other offerings were dry and needed some Fire Sauce to really get going, the fact that this actually comes with its own sauce shows that Taco Bell really can pull off this breakfast thing.

Let’s talk about the hashbrown in a sandwich. This is a phenomenal idea in concept, but frequently risky in execution (note: I’m also including fries in that assessment). The problem with putting fries/hashbrowns in sandwiches is that they tend to get soggy, which means they aren’t crispy, so the sandwich loses texture, and you’re stuck with a greasy, soggy potato slab that really just weighs everything down. Not the case here. The hashbrown stayed crispy throughout the whole eating experience. And I mean the whole experience. They cut the hashbrowns so it covered the whole tortilla. There were no hashbrown-less bites.

Well proportioned

Well proportioned

The bacon seemed like large bacon bits. They were chewy and had a smoky flavor when isolated, but frequently took a back seat to everything else. Maybe there needs to be more bacon here (though I think this is a problem in general with breakfast sandwiches. There’s usually not enough bacon, so you’re always getting more bang for your buck if you just choose sausage).

As the eating continued, the jalapeno sauce started taking over and the eggs and cheese faded in the background, while the bacon wasn’t substantial enough to override the spicy flavor. This is definitely a case where sausage would have stood up better to the sauce and made this even better. Lastly, this was a very clean sandwich. It wasn’t messy, and everything stayed in the wrapper without falling or dripping off the sides. As regular readers know, this is something I very much appreciate.

Still a lot of sandwich to go!

Still a lot of sandwich to go!

I love fried potatoes. Any sandwich that incorporates fried potatoes, and does it well, is a sandwich I’m going to enjoy. Despite its small stature, this was surprising filling, and it would be even more so with sausage, as opposed to the bacon. Taco Bell got the sauce right, and the tortilla isn’t too thick. This may not be the lightest sandwich, and I’m not sure I’d recommend it for someone in a hurry, but it is a quality sandwich, and I’d definitely eat it again.

 

 

 

 

 

