Slowly, but surely, we’re completing this journey through the Taco Bell breakfast menu. We’re finishing the sandwich portion with the simplest item they offer: the A.M. Grilled Taco with sausage. Upon first glance, this looked like the flatbread melt, except slightly smaller. It’s priced at $1, and also falls into the value menu option for breakfast.

Looks like there's nothing in the wrapper

Looks like there’s nothing in the wrapper

Taco Bell describes the A.M. Grilled Taco with sausage as “fluffy scrambled eggs, melted cheddar cheese and flavorful sausage crumbles folded in a warm tortilla and grilled for portability.” Normally, I don’t spend too much time on the food description, but since this whole review is not covering much new territory here, let’s analyze this a bit. First, this whole menu is designed for portability, so I’m not sure why the taco is being singled out here. Other than the A.M. Crunchwrap, everything can be eaten whilst driving. Even weirder, sausage crumbles? Really? I don’t think of sausage as something that can crumble, and if I encountered crumbling sausage, I’d likely want to avoid eating it. Just call them nuggets or chunks!

Slightly burnt...

Slightly burnt…

Anyway, random tangents aside, let’s talk about taste. The taco was layered so that the egg and cheese were at the fold, with the sausage on top. This is the proper sandwich construction. I note this only because there was some crazy confusion in the kitchen after I placed my order, and based on my eavesdropping, it was centered around how to make this taco. So I doff my cap to the manager who straightened things out back there.

Paper thin

Paper thin

The tortilla was left in the press too long, so the slightly burnt flavor dominated my first few bites, which didn’t have any sausage anyway. When I got some sausage towards the middle, this tasted better because the sausage crumbles had the most flavor. However, once again, a lack of sauce dooms the taco. It didn’t really become good until I put some fire sauce in there. So this is another breakfast item that’s too dry on its own. I’m really having a hard time understanding how Taco Bell green lit so many items that were dry. Are they just banking on everyone using sauce? If so, maybe say something, as opposed to leaving anonymous bloggers such as myself to question your sandwich design skills.

Taco guts!

Taco guts!

The real comparison here is between the A.M. Grilled Taco and the Sausage Flatbread Melt. The flatbread was more filling, due to its size and the inclusion of a sausage patty, and not crumbles. But… this was less of a gut bomb because there was less bread. I don’t see myself ordering either of these items again, but I probably lean towards the taco.

