Welcome to Dunkin’ Donuts week! I realized I’ve never actually reviewed anything from Dunkin’ for the blog, so this week I’ll be posting on two items I’ve eaten recently to give Dunkin’ proper representation here. First up is the Reese’s Peanut Butter Square.

img_5098

Dunkin’ is pretty good about rotating new flavors into their rotation every few months to supplement the usual array of donuts. Aside from their attempt to hop on the Cronut craze (rapid reaction: it was too expensive and not good), I rarely try these new creations. Partially because I don’t eat donuts too often and when I do, I go to my favorites, and partially because they don’t always seem appetizing (I have no interest in a key lime donut). However, one morning recently, I stopped in for coffee and saw the Reese’s Peanut Butter Square. Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups are a great candy, and the idea of turning that taste into a donut was too irresistible, so I broke down and bought one. Besides, it’s not really a poor choice if it produces content for the blog, right?

As befitting a “square” and not a donut, Dunkin’ charges a premium for this pastry: $1.49, which is a hefty price to pay for a fancy donut that’s not really larger than a regular donut. It felt heavier than a regular donut, and I certainly hoped it’d be more filling, but this is expensive for what it is.

img_5103

Dunkin’ says the Reese’s Peanut Butter Square “is filled with rich and creamy Reese’s peanut buttercreme, topped with chocolate icing and finished with an orange icing drizzle.” My first bite managed to get part of the donut without any filling. There’s always one side on a Dunkin’ Donuts filled donut that doesn’t have any filling, and it’s nice to use that side as a palate cleanser. The chocolate frosting in that bite was really sweet. I’m generally a vanilla or strawberry frosted person myself, so I’m not sure if the chocolate icing is actually sweeter, or just that I wasn’t used to that particular flavor.

img_5104

As I continued to eat, I encountered the buttercreme. It wasn’t quite what I expected, but I also thought there was a chance they just filled it with peanut butter. This is probably better than peanut butter would have been. It’s texture was like a whipped cream. It did taste like a sweetened peanut butter, though more sugary than peanut buttery. I’d have preferred a little more peanut butter heavy taste, but this was good too.

img_5106

One problem is that for a donut at a premium price point, the filling seemed a little sparse. I’m guessing they use the same machine to fill all of their donuts, but I felt like this particular donut didn’t get a good squeeze. Or maybe the crevasse inside the donut was too small. The filling kept squeezing out as I bit, so perhaps there wasn’t enough room. If the donut wasn’t as wide, perhaps I could have fit the width of it in my mouth, but that isn’t possible with the square.

img_5107

When I did get all the flavors in a single bite, the chocolate icing was more prominent than the buttercreme, when I’d have preferred the reverse. But that’s a consequence of the lighter buttercreme serving more as a compliment here. The orange icing also had a chocolate taste and was mere decoration.

I guess I’d give this a qualified recommendation. While it wasn’t quite what I was expecting, the Reese’s Peanut Butter Square had good flavor, even being a touch too sweet. The first qualifier would be the price point. This is an expensive donut and it’s not really larger than a regular donut, but you’re paying 50% more. The other qualifier: is when does one eat this? Unless I’m feeling particularly gluttonous, I eat donuts with breakfast, but this is too sweet for me to eat in the morning, and I imagine most people would feel the same. Therefore, I see this particular item as more of an afternoon treat (put some of the money saved from reduced coffee prices after noon into the square price), rather than a breakfast item.

 

