Thanksgiving is over. There are no more leaves left on the trees. And it snowed last week. It’s officially the Christmas/holiday season. While Dunkin’ Donuts jumped the gun with the release of one of their holiday themed donuts, they can be excused. I’m a Thanksgiving aficionado, but that holiday is harder to commercialize, so it gets ignored by most stores. However, now that I’m in the holiday spirit, we can discuss Dunkin’s Candy Cane Crunch Donut.

img_5409

As with the Reese’s Peanut Butter Square , this is a premium donut, and is accordingly priced at $1.09. Upon first glance, the donut was quite bright. It was topped with white frosting, dotted with candy cane shards, as if someone had smashed a candy cane on top of the donut while somehow managing to maintain the structural integrity of a donut with cream filling. My other immediate thought was the damage those shards were going to wreak upon my teeth, because I’m an old man.

img_5411

Before I took my first bite, I inhaled, and the aroma was a mix of vanilla and peppermint. My first taste combined those two flavors. The candy cane pieces were crunchy and sweet. Luckily, they were also easy to bite through and not ruinous to my teeth. The texture to the candy was thankfully softer than a regular candy cane, giving some resistance without me worrying about yanking out my teeth.

The donut had a minty after taste, as the candy flavor outlasted the vanilla from the frosting. I tasted some of the candy cane shards on their own, and they tasted legit. This donut will fulfill your December candy cane lust, while also satiating your donut needs… if you have such feelings.

img_5410

Once again, there was a problem with the filling distribution. I can’t remember the last time I had a properly filled donut from Dunkin’, and I’m starting to think this is the new normal, and a properly filled donut would be an anomaly. I got around halfway through the donut before I reached any filling. When I finally reached the cream (or maybe it was frosting), it was incredibly sweet, with a vanilla taste. After longing for the filling, I have to admit that I actually preferred the fillingless half of the donut. Luckily, on the filling side, it was only a thin layer. The donut itself was great. It was soft and fresh and helped prevent the whole thing from becoming too sweet.

In case you couldn’t tell, I really liked the Candy Cane Crunch Donut. I walk by a Dunkin’ every morning on the way to work, and based on its prominent placement behind the counter, and its bright color, it beckons me every morning. The minty taste gets me in the holiday feeling, frosting is awesome, and the filling was tolerable. If you like the combination of vanilla and peppermint, or are intrigued, give it a shot. You probably have around another month to do so.

